Boating Education Courses - Boatmaster

Boatmaster

A comprehensive course for boaties with some existing knowledge and experience. Applies to a wide range of vessels including yachts, launches and powerboats.

Aim: To gain detailed boating knowledge.
Duration: 30 Hours.
Qualification: NZ Boatmaster Certificate. Unit Standard 26541 available.
Prerequisites: Day Skipper recommended.

* Basic course pack includes Manual & Assessment

* Full course pack includes Manual, Assessment, Safety in Small Craft, Rules of the Road at Sea, Nautical Flashcards & Chartwork Plotter


Modules:

1. Equipment

2. Emergencies

  • Accidents
  • Distress signals
  • Distress procedures
  • Search & rescue
  • Lifesaving & fire fighting

3. Navigation

  • Compass
  • Chartwork & publications
  • Tides & weather
  • Buoys & beacons
  • Lights & day shapes

4. Boat Handling

  • Stability
  • Anchors & anchoring
  • Steerage & manoeuvring
  • Berthing, launching & retrieving
  • Rough seas & surf
  • Crossing bars

5. Rules & Regulations

  • Collision prevention rules
  • Water recreation rules
  • Harbour bylaws
  • Skipper responsibility

6. Ropes

  • Rigging, bends & hitches


Boatmaster Tutorials

Learn from an experienced tutor at one of the many education centres throughout the country.

Price: Tutorial fees are variable throughout the country. Please obtain a quote from the venue of your choice.
Timetable: Please see the timetable below for details.

* Basic course pack includes Manual & Assessment

* Full course pack includes Manual, Assessment, Safety in Small Craft, Rules of the Road at Sea, Nautical Flashcards & Chartwork Plotter


Boatmaster Home Study

Now you can learn in the comfort of your own home at your own pace. Ideal for people who cannot attend a Boatmaster course due to a restricted schedule or geographical location.

The Boatmaster assessment is only available within New Zealand.

Includes: Boatmaster Manual, Study Guide, Chartwork Plotter, Safety in Small Craft text book, Rules of the Road at Sea reference book and Nautical Flashcards.

Click here for instructions on how to use the Chartwork Plotter.

Click on the image below for videos on how to use the Chartwork Plotter:

Capture_1

Available from Coastguard Boating Education, nationwide delivery.


Price: $299.00 (includes assessment fee)
Phone: 0800 40 80 90
Email:
Office: 165 Westhaven Drive, Westhaven, Auckland
Buy now

Personal Details

Please supply details of the person taking the course - all fields are required.

















Back to Course listing | Back to Homepage
No courses listed or can't find a course that suits? Contact Coastguard Boating Education:
to make an enquiry or free phone 0800 40 80 90.

Timetable of Tutorials

 Region A - Northland     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting February 2015 (Northland)
Coastguard Maritime School - Bay of Islands 09 303 9364 Sat 28th Feb - Wed 11th Mar 8.30am-4.30 pm & 7pm-10pm
Basic course pack, extra resources may be required, order form is sent out with confirmation of booking. 2 Weekends and 2 Wednesday nights.
$435.00
Courses starting May 2015 (Northland)
Kerikeri Cruising Club 0800 40 80 90 Ask for Joanne Sat 9th - Sat 30th May Starts 9 May 2015
Sat 9 May 9am-5pm; Tue 12 May 630-930pm; Thur 14 May 630-930pm; Sat 16 May 9am-5pm; Mon 18 May 630-930pm; Tue 19 May 630-930pm; Sat 23 May (incl Written Assessment) 9am-5pm; Sat 30 May (Oral Assessment).
$435.00
Courses starting June 2015 (Northland)
Tutukaka Marina 0800 40 80 90 Sat 13th - Sun 21st Jun 9am to 5pm
Course runs over 2 weekends
$435.00
 Region B - Auckland     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting January 2015 (Auckland)
Te Atatu Boat Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 31st Jan - Sun 15th Feb 9am to 5pm
Course is run over 2 weekends - Please note that there will be no course run on Waitangi Weekend.
$435.00
Courses starting February 2015 (Auckland)
Coastguard Maritime School - Mechanics Bay 09 303 9364 Sat 7th Feb - Mon 23rd Mar 8.30am-4.30 pm & 7pm-10pm
Basic course pack, extra resources may be required, order form is sent out with confirmation of booking. 1 weekend and 7 nights
$435.00
Coastguard Maritime School - Mechanics Bay 09 303 9364 Thu 19th Feb - Thu 21st May 7pm-10pm
Basic course pack, extra resources may be required, order form is sent out with confirmation of booking. Thursday nights
$435.00
Courses starting March 2015 (Auckland)
Royal Akarana Yacht Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 21st - Sun 29th Mar 9am to 5pm
2x Weekend course
$435.00
Courses starting May 2015 (Auckland)
Coastguard Maritime School - Mechanics Bay 09 303 9364 Sat 2nd May - Thu 18th Jun 8.30am-4.30 pm & 7pm-10pm
Basic course pack, extra resources may be required, order form is sent out with confirmation of booking. 1 weekend and 7 Thursday nights
$435.00
Royal Akarana Yacht Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 16th - Sun 24th May 9am to 5pm
2x Weekend course
$435.00
Courses starting June 2015 (Auckland)
Coastguard Waiuku 09 303 9364 Wed 3rd Jun - Wed 26th Aug 7pm-930pm
Basic course pack, extra resources may be required, order form is sent out with confirmation of booking. 13x Wednesday evenings.
$435.00
Coastguard Howick 09 303 9364 Sat 20th Jun - Wed 5th Aug Sat & Sun 830am-430pm; Wed 7-10pm
Basic course pack, extra resources may be required, order form is sent out with confirmation of booking. 1x Weekend & 7 Wednesday evenings
$435.00
Te Atatu Boat Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 20th - Sun 28th Jun 9am to 5pm
Course run over 2x weekends
$435.00
Massey University Albany 09 303 9364 Mon 29th Jun - Mon 31st Aug 7pm-10pm
Basic course pack, extra resources may be required, order form is sent out with confirmation of booking. 13x Wednesday evenings.
$435.00
Courses starting July 2015 (Auckland)
Selwyn College 0800 40 80 90 Ask for Joanne Tue 28th Jul - Tue 15th Sep 6pm - 9pm
Run over 9x Tuesdays and 1x Saturday
$435.00
 Region C - Waikato / BOP     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting April 2015 (Waikato / BOP)
Tauranga Coastguard 0800 40 80 90 Thu 9th Apr - Thu 11th Jun 6pm - 9pm
Course run over 10x evenings
$525.00
Courses starting May 2015 (Waikato / BOP)
Coastguard Raglan 0800 40 80 90 Ask for Joanne Thu 7th May - Sat 27th Jun 6pm - 9pm Thu x8 / 930am - 4pm Sat x1
Run over 8x Thursday Evenings and 1x full Saturday
$435.00
Courses starting June 2015 (Waikato / BOP)
Tatapouri Sports Fishing Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 20th - Sun 28th Jun 9am to 5pm
2x 2-day block course held over 2x weekends
$435.00
Courses starting August 2015 (Waikato / BOP)
Whitianga Coastguard 0800 40 80 90 Ask for Joanne Sat 1st - Sun 9th Aug 9am to 5pm
Course held over 2 weekends
$435.00
 Region D - Central North Island     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting February 2015 (Central North Island)
River Boat Centre Wanganui 0800 40 80 90 Wed 25th Feb - Thu 30th Apr 6:30-9:30pm
Evening course run over 10x Wednesdays
$435.00
Courses starting June 2015 (Central North Island)
Taranaki Surf Lifesaving 0800 40 80 90 Sat 20th - Sun 28th Jun 9am to 5pm
Course run over 2x Weekends
$435.00
 Region E - Lower North Island     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting April 2015 (Lower North Island)
Mana Cruising Club 0800 40 80 90 Tue 21st Apr - Tue 28th Jul 7pm - 9pm
Run over 15x Tuesday Evenings
$435.00
 Region F - Upper South Island     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting May 2015 (Upper South Island)
Picton Emergency Operation Centre 0800 40 80 90 Ask for Joanne Fri 8th - Sun 17th May Fri 6.30-9.30pm 2x Sat & Sun 9am-4pm
Course held over 1x Friday evening 6.30-9.30pm and 2x weekends Sat & Sun 9am-4pm
$435.00
 Region G - Christchurch / Canterbury     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting February 2015 (Christchurch / Canterbury)
Tallys Marine Rescue Centre West Coast 0800 40 80 90 Ask for Joanne Sat 28th Feb - Sun 8th Mar 9am to 5pm
2-day Weekend Course - West Coast
$435.00
Back to Course listing | Back to Homepage
back to top