Boating Education Courses - Boatmaster

Boatmaster

A comprehensive course for boaties with some existing knowledge and experience. Applies to a wide range of vessels including yachts, launches and powerboats.

Aim: To gain detailed boating knowledge.
Duration: 30 Hours plus separate 30 minute oral assessment.
Qualification: NZ Boatmaster Certificate. Unit Standard 26541 available.
Prerequisites: Day Skipper recommended.


Modules:

1. Equipment

2. Emergencies

  • Accidents
  • Distress signals
  • Distress procedures
  • Search & rescue
  • Lifesaving & fire fighting

3. Navigation

  • Compass
  • Chartwork & publications
  • Tides & weather
  • Buoys & beacons
  • Lights & day shapes

4. Boat Handling

  • Stability
  • Anchors & anchoring
  • Steerage & manoeuvring
  • Berthing, launching & retrieving
  • Rough seas & surf
  • Crossing bars

5. Rules & Regulations

  • Collision prevention rules
  • Water recreation rules
  • Harbour bylaws
  • Skipper responsibility

6. Ropes



Boatmaster Tutorials

Learn from an experienced tutor at one of the many education centres throughout the country.

Includes: Boatmaster Handbook (Safety in Small Craft), Boatmaster Exercises and Assessment.


Recommended additional resources for this course: Rules of the Road at Sea, Nautical Flashcards & Chartwork Plotter. Click here to purchase these items.

Full upgrade pack only $50.00


Boatmaster Home Study

Now you can learn in the comfort of your own home at your own pace. Ideal for people who cannot attend a Boatmaster course due to a restricted schedule or geographical location.

The Boatmaster assessment is only available within New Zealand.

Includes: Boatmaster Manual, Study Guide, Chartwork Plotter, Safety in Small Craft text book, Rules of the Road at Sea reference book and Nautical Flashcards.

*** You have 12 months to complete your Home Study course


Boatmaster Home Study


Price: $315.00 (includes assessment fee)
Phone: 0800 40 80 90
Email:
Office: 165 Westhaven Drive, Westhaven, Auckland
Buy now

Personal Details

Please supply details of the person taking the course - all fields are required.

















Back to Course listing | Back to Homepage
No courses listed or can't find a course that suits? Contact Coastguard Boating Education:
to make an enquiry or free phone 0800 40 80 90.

Timetable of Tutorials

 Region A - Northland     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting February 2016 (Northland)
Bay of Islands Coastguard 09 303 4303 Sat 27th Feb - Wed 9th Mar 8:30am to 4:30pm + 7:00pm to 10:00pm
Two full weekends plus two Wednesday nights
$475.00
Courses starting March 2016 (Northland)
Mangawhai Boating Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 12th - Sun 20th Mar 8:30am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 12/13 & 19/20 March
$475.00
Courses starting April 2016 (Northland)
Whangarei RSA 0800 40 80 90 Sat 9th - Sun 17th Apr 8:30am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 09/10 April & 16/17 April
$475.00
Courses starting July 2016 (Northland)
Whangarei RSA 0800 40 80 90 Sat 23rd - Sun 31st Jul 8:30am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 23/24 & 30/31 July
$475.00
Courses starting September 2016 (Northland)
Mangawhai Boating Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 10th - Sun 18th Sep 8:30am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 10/11 & 17/18 September
$475.00
 Region B - Auckland     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting February 2016 (Auckland)
Auckland Marine Rescue Centre 09 303 4303 Sat 13th Feb - Mon 7th Mar 8:30am to 4:30pm + 7:00pm to 10:00pm
One full weekend then Monday & Wednesday nights
$475.00
Auckland Marine Rescue Centre 09 303 4303 Thu 18th Feb - Thu 19th May 7:00pm to 10:00pm
12 x Thursday Evenings
$475.00
Te Atatu Boat Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 20th - Sun 28th Feb 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 20/21 & 27/28 February
$475.00
Courses starting March 2016 (Auckland)
Royal Akarana Yacht Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 5th - Sun 13th Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 05/06 & 12/13 March
$475.00
Waiheke Adult Learning 0800 40 80 90 Sat 5th - Sun 20th Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 5/6 & 19/20 March
$475.00
Courses starting April 2016 (Auckland)
Northcote & Birkenhead Yacht Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 2nd - Sun 10th Apr 8:30am to 4:30pm
Two weekends - 02/03 & 09/10 April
$475.00
Auckland Marine Rescue Centre 09 303 4303 Sat 30th Apr - Thu 16th Jun 8:30am to 4:30pm + 7:00pm to 10:00pm
One full weekend then 7 x Thursday evenings
$475.00
Mangere - Rainbow Corner Early Learning Centre 0800 40 80 90 Sat 30th Apr - Sun 8th May 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 30/31 March & 07/08 April
$475.00
Courses starting May 2016 (Auckland)
Selwyn College 0800 40 80 90 Tue 17th May - Tue 28th Jun 6:00pm to 9:00pm & 9:00am to 3:30pm
Tuesday Evenings - plus Saturday 28 May and Saturday 11 June
$475.00
Te Atatu Boat Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 21st - Sun 29th May 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 21/22 & 28/29 May
$475.00
Richmond Yacht Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 28th May - Sat 18th Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm
4 x Saturdays
$475.00
Courses starting June 2016 (Auckland)
Coastguard Howick 09 303 4303 Sat 18th Jun - Mon 1st Aug 8:30am to 4:30pm + 7:00pm to 10:00pm
One full weekend then 7 x Monday evenings
$475.00
Royal Akarana Yacht Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 18th - Sun 26th Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 18/19 & 25/26 June
$475.00
Courses starting July 2016 (Auckland)
Northcote & Birkenhead Yacht Club 0800 40 80 90 Sat 16th - Sun 24th Jul 8:30am to 4:30pm
Two weekends - 16/17 & 23/24 July
$475.00
Courses starting October 2016 (Auckland)
Selwyn College 0800 40 80 90 Tue 18th Oct - Tue 29th Nov 6:00pm to 9:00pm & 9:00am to 3:30pm
Tuesday Evenings - plus Saturday 29 October and Saturday 19 November
$475.00
Courses starting November 2016 (Auckland)
Rutherford College 0800 40 80 90 Sat 19th - Sun 27th Nov 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 19/20 & 26/27 November
$475.00
 Region C - Waikato / BOP     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting February 2016 (Waikato / BOP)
Thames Sailing Club 09 303 4303 Sat 13th - Sun 28th Feb 8:30am to 4:30pm
Two and a half weekends
$475.00
Courses starting March 2016 (Waikato / BOP)
Sport Bay of Plenty - Tauranga 0800 40 80 90 Sat 12th - Sun 20th Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 12/13 & 19/20 March
$475.00
Courses starting April 2016 (Waikato / BOP)
Whitianga - Venue TBC 0800 40 80 90 Sat 23rd Apr - Sun 1st May 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 23/24 & 30/01 April/May
$475.00
Courses starting July 2016 (Waikato / BOP)
Sport Bay of Plenty - Tauranga 0800 40 80 90 Sat 16th - Sun 24th Jul 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 16/17 & 23/24 July
$475.00
Courses starting August 2016 (Waikato / BOP)
Whangamata Coastguard 0800 40 80 90 Mon 1st Aug - Mon 14th Nov 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Monday nights for 15 weeks
$475.00
Courses starting September 2016 (Waikato / BOP)
Raglan Coastguard 0800 40 80 90 Sat 3rd - Sun 18th Sep 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 3/4 & 17/18 September
$475.00
 Region D - Central North Island     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting March 2016 (Central North Island)
Hawke's Bay Coastguard Operations and Education Centre 0800 40 80 90 Thu 3rd Mar - Thu 9th Jun 7:00pm to 9:00pm
15 x Thursday Evenings
$475.00
Hawke's Bay Coastguard Operations and Education Centre 0800 40 80 90 Sat 12th - Sun 20th Mar 8:30am to 5:00pm
Two full weekends + extra evening for oral assessment
$475.00
Courses starting May 2016 (Central North Island)
River Boat Centre, Wanganui 0800 40 80 90 Tue 17th May - Wed 15th Jun 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday & Wednesday Evenings
$475.00
Courses starting August 2016 (Central North Island)
River Boat Centre, Wanganui 0800 40 80 90 Wed 3rd Aug - Tue 6th Sep 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday & Wednesday Evenings
$475.00
 Region E - Lower North Island     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting April 2016 (Lower North Island)
Wellington Volunteer Coastguard, Evans Bay 0800 40 80 90 Sat 2nd - Sun 10th Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 02/03 & 09/10 April
$475.00
Wellington Ocean Sports 0800 40 80 90 Wed 20th Apr - Wed 1st Jun 5:30pm to 8:30pm
Monday & Wednesday evenings
$475.00
Courses starting June 2016 (Lower North Island)
Wellington - Venue TBC 0800 40 80 90 Sat 25th Jun - Sun 3rd Jul 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 25/26 June & 02/03 July
$475.00
Courses starting September 2016 (Lower North Island)
Wellington - Venue TBC 0800 40 80 90 Sun 11th - Sun 18th Sep 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 11/12 & 17/18 September
$475.00
Courses starting November 2016 (Lower North Island)
Wellington - Venue TBC 0800 40 80 90 Sat 5th - Sun 13th Nov 9:00am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 05/06 & 12/13 November
$475.00
 Region F - Upper South Island     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting February 2016 (Upper South Island)
Port Nelson Visitors Centre 0800 40 80 90 Sat 13th - Sun 28th Feb 8:30am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 13/14 & 27/28 February
$475.00
Courses starting July 2016 (Upper South Island)
Nelson - Venue TBC 0800 40 80 90 Sat 30th Jul - Sun 7th Aug 8:30am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 30/31 July & 06/07 August
$475.00
Courses starting November 2016 (Upper South Island)
Nelson - Venue TBC 0800 40 80 90 Sat 5th - Sat 19th Nov 8:30am to 5:00pm
Two weekends - 05/06 & 18/19 November
$475.00
 Region G - Christchurch / Canterbury     [print]
Venue Phone Date Contact Comments    
Courses starting March 2016 (Christchurch / Canterbury)
Sumner Life Boat 0800 40 80 90 Sat 19th Mar - Sun 3rd Apr 9:00am to 4:30pm
Two weekends - 19/20 March & 2/3 April
$475.00
Courses starting June 2016 (Christchurch / Canterbury)
Naval Point Yacht Club 0800 40 80 90 Sun 26th Jun - Sun 10th Jul 9:00am to 4:30pm
Two weekends - 26/27 June & 9/10 July
$475.00
Back to Course listing | Back to Homepage
back to top